thefurryblogmother


Tutee or Not Tutee?
October 11, 2011, 3:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

“You’ve got a friend in me” is a recurrent theme for Woody, Buzz and co. Going to university you’ll find you also need the support of your friends and family. Of course, you’ll still have your mates from home, but you’ll soon find a new circle of friends amongst other students. I was chatting to one new student this week and he explained how he’d already made some of his friendships before coming to uni through Yougo. I had to admit that I didn’t know about this UCAS site, but apparently it allows you to meet with others on your course before you go. I won’t show any more of my ignorance by trying to explain it – you can find out about it yourself.

Universities are also aware of the need to have at least one person you know you can ask when you’re not sure what to do. At Abertay we have a system of Academic Tutors and every student is assigned to someone. (Other universities will have similar things but with different names). As I was explaining to my tutees, its not Big Brother checking up on them. Nor are they restricted to only seeing their tutor, but hopefully it gives an extra person you can ask when you don’t know what to do and you don’t want to appear a fool. In my view there’s only one foolish question – “Why didn’t I ask that before?” (OK, don’t try and prove me wrong – you get my point!)

It was fascinating meeting these students – all very different from each other, yet all on the same course. Some were confident, some less sure but all were looking forward to their time at university.  They’re also involved in some very interesting stuff in their spare time.  I usually ask how they’re getting on with cooking for themselves and am often surprised at their ingenuity – sharing cooking, budget catering, staples of pasta and pizza, and a few of their favourite recipes that made my mouth water (and a drooling furry blogmother is not a pretty sight!)  They’ll cope, despite all the worries of their Mums and Dads.  And they’ll have fun in the process!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

